Spring 2018 Walsh Research Travel Award recipients announced

The McPherson ERI Research Committee has announced two new recipients of David G. Walsh Research Travel Awards.  These awards provide funds for graduate students and postdocs from McPherson ERI members’ research groups to attend conferences to present vision-related work, and to advance educational and professional development opportunities. Award-winners for spring 2018 are Pawan Kumar Shahi, postdoctoral researcher (Pediatrics; Bikash Pattnaik, mentor) for a presentation entitled “Rescue of Kir7.1 function by gene augmentation in LCA16 patient derived iPSC-RPE cells;” and Divya Sinha, postdoctoral researcher (Waisman Center; David Gamm, mentor), for a presentation entitled “Mitochondrial integrity and function in hPSC-derived RPE.”  Both will attend the Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology (ARVO) meeting in Honolulu this spring.  Congratulations to both award recipients, who will be invited to speak in the McPherson ERI seminar series during the 2018-19 academic year.